Accelerating neurotechnology for human benefit

Wyss Center Investigators

Wyss Center Investigators are external academic investigators working with the Wyss Center team on Wyss Center supported projects.

Professor Patrick Aebischer
Professor Patrick Aebischer is head of the Neurodegenerative Studies Laboratory at EPFL. His current research focuses on the development of cell and gene transfer approaches for the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases such as Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s and motorneuron disease.

Professor Grégoire Courtine
Professor Grégoire Courtine is the International Paraplegic Foundation Chair in Spinal Cord Repair at the Center for Neuroprosthetics at EPFL. His research program aims to develop neuroprosthetic treatments to improve recovery after spinal cord injury.

Professor Olaf Blanke
Professor Olaf Blanke is the founding Director of the Center for Neuroprosthetics and holds the Bertarelli Foundation Chair in Cognitive Neuroprosthetics at EPFL. His human neuroscience research is dedicated to the understanding of how the brain represents our body and the neuroscientific study of consciousness. In neuroprosthetics he develops the fields of robotic psychiatry, cognetics and cogniceuticals.

Professor Diego Ghezzi
Professor Diego Ghezzi holds the Medtronic Chair in Neuroengineering at the School of Engineering at EPFL. His research is primarily focused on the implementation of novel technological approaches for sight restoration and the development of neuro-artificial interfaces and tools for the non-invasive stimulation of the brain with light.

Professor Stéphanie Lacour
Professor Stéphanie Lacour holds the Bertarelli Foundation Chair in Neuroprosthetic Technology at the School of Engineering at EPFL. She is interested in exploring materials, technology and integration of soft bioelectronic interfaces with particular applications in soft robotics and long-term active neuroprostheses.

Professor Anne-Lise Giraud
Professor Anne-Lise Giraud is the leader of the Auditory Language Group at the University of Geneva. Her research explores how neural oscillations contribute to auditory processing with an emphasis on speech and access to meaning. She is particularly interested in using basic science to understand the causes of speech and language disorders.

Professor Silvestro Micera
Professor Silvestro Micera is Director of the Translational Neural Engineering Laboratory at EPFL and holds the Bertarelli Foundation Chair in Translational Neuroengieering. His research interests include implantable neural interfaces with the central and peripheral nervous systems to restore sensory and motor function.

Professor Dimitri Van De Ville
Professor Dimitri Van De Ville is head of the Medical Image Processing Laboratory and Professor of Bioengineering at EPFL. His research encompasses biomedical signal and image processing, in particular functional brain imaging and real-time fMRI for neurofeedback applications.

Professor Luc Stoppini
Professor Luc Stoppini, from hepia/HES-SO, is a world leader in 3D tissue culture systems. His current research is focused on developing a unique in vitro system to identify the optimal materials and electrode geometries that will enhance the stability and reliability of electrodes needed to make human brain recordings.

Professor José Millán
Professor José del R. Millán holds the Defitech Chair in Brain-Machine Interface at EPFL where he explores the use of brain signals for multimodal interaction and, in particular, the development of brain controlled robots and neuroprostheses. He is a globally renowned researcher in the field of brain-computer interfaces.

Professor Demetri Psaltis
Professor Demetri Psaltis is Dean of Engineering and Professor of Optics at EPFL. His research interests include the development of optical imaging techniques for the diagnosis of hearing loss due to deterioration of the cochlea.

Dr Bernard Schneider
Dr Bernard Schneider is a Senior Scientist in the Neurodegenerative Disease Laboratory at EPFL. His research interests are in the development of novel gene therapeutic approaches to diseases including Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and deafness.

Professor Margitta Seeck
Professor Margitta Seeck is the leader of the EEG and Epilepsy Unit at the HUG. The goal of her unit is to propose surgical solutions to drug resistant patients. Her research interests include diagnostics associated with seizure focus localization and neural stimulation for disorders of memory.

Professor Nikolaos Stergiopulos
Professor Nikolaos Stergiopulos is Director of the Laboratory of Hemodynamics and Cardiovascular Technology at EPFL. His research interests include the study of blood flow in relation to cardiovascular disease and the development of implantable devices for a range of applications.